My First Hackathon | Learned a Lot ๐Ÿ™‹

My First Hackathon | Learned a Lot ๐Ÿ™‹

ยท

2 min read

Hello Everyone , My name is Amit and today was my First Hackathon Partipation.

This was a WeMakeDevs <> Stream hackathon , it was about building something unique in time between 16-19 Dec while using Stream Chat APIs .

Image

My Experience

When I signed up for the Hackathon, I didnt' had any great friends to collaborate, but somehow I came to know about that I can find partners online on WeMakeDevs Discord Channels, and that changed the whole scenario for me. Now, I can talk to so many great people and decide whom I want to participate with. The Discord Channel was a true blessing.

I found some nice people, after searching and I made a team with them, Our team is of 4 members, three are from India and one is from Germany. Everyone was really good at their technical skills, I was a Frontend developer, and the other three were backend developers.

Due to getting my team late, I started on 18 December and we outlined what our project is going to be , finally after 2-3 hours of discussion we decided that our topic is going to be "an online chat room for people of the same locality to buy and sell used things," there would be different sections for different items like Furniture, Mobiles, Books, etc. and our project title would be

"SellBuddy"

sounds great! right?

Building the Project

The next step after planning is to build what we have planned.

I did the frontend part and other guys did the backend part, we continously worked fo 10 hours to come up this:

We used a variety of technologies like HTML, CSS, React, Bootstrap

and for creating the chat system, We used Stream Chat API, things were a little confusing initially, but we kept struggling and in the end made a great project.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DBku4sJ5BAk&feature=youtu.be&ab_channel=AmitTripathi

A video demonstration of what we built.

Thanks for Reading. That's it for now.

Follow me for more such posts.

ย